Kali’s Blade

14 Sep No Comments Aileen Ibardaloza-Cassinetto Books, Issue 45

Kali’s Blade by Michele Bautista Meritage Press, 2006 “This particular school of Kali, Kamatuuran School of Kalijin, goes beyond the dojo and really has given me a framework to both be and live artistry. I’m able to bridge to other experiences and knowledge whether at work or writing or performance.

Camp 1942 and the Rest of My Life

10 Jul No Comments Aileen Ibardaloza-Cassinetto Books, Issue 45

Camp 1942 and the Rest of My Life by Susan Yamamura SFJ Publishing, Tucson, 2014 This memoir is about growing up behind a barbed-wire community at the age of two. Author Susan Yamamura, now a retired computer systems & network administrator, has had enough time procrastinating with memories, trying to

On Sal Mal Lane: A Novel

10 Jul No Comments Aileen Ibardaloza-Cassinetto Books, Issue 45

On Sal Mal Lane by Ru Freeman Graywolf Press, Minneapolis, 2014 From the Publisher: In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war. * A Library Journal Best Indie Fiction

The Sympathizer: A Novel

10 Jul No Comments Aileen Ibardaloza-Cassinetto Books, Issue 45

The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen Grove Press, New York, 2015 From the Publisher: A profound, startling, and beautifully crafted debut novel, The Sympathizer is the story of a man of two minds, someone whose political beliefs clash with his individual loyalties. It is April 1975, and Saigon is in

AGAINST MISANTHROPY: A Life in Poetry (2015-1995)

10 Jul No Comments Aileen Ibardaloza-Cassinetto Books, Issue 45

by Eileen R. Tabios Against Misanthropy: A Life In Poetry by Eileen R. Tabios BlazeVOX [books], Buffalo, 2015 From the Publisher: 2015 marks the 20th year anniversary of Eileen R. Tabios’ “career switch” from banking to poetry. AGAINST MISANTHROPY presents her life as a self-educated poet—from, as a newbie poet,

Angel de la Luna and the 5th Glorious Mystery

10 Jul No Comments Aileen Ibardaloza-Cassinetto Books, Issue 45

Angel de la Luna and the 5th Glorious Mystery by M. Evelina Galang Coffee House Press, Minneapolis, 2013 “Angel de la Luna is a beautifully told, and at times, heartbreaking coming of age and coming to America story. Evelina Galang is a masterful storyteller and through her brilliant voice and

Monsoon Country

10 Jul No Comments Aileen Ibardaloza-Cassinetto Books, Issue 45

MONSOON COUNTRY by Pira Sudham Breakwater Books, Guilford, 1990 From the Publisher: Set in Thailand, England and Germany, Monsoon Country conveys the cultural tension between the East and the West, the clashes between the new powers and the old values, covering twenty-five years of socio-economic and political change in Thailand.

White Pearl and I: A Memoir of a Political Refugee

2 Jul No Comments Aileen Ibardaloza-Cassinetto Books, Issue 45

White Pearl and I by Svetlana Kim BookSurge Publishing, Charleston, 2008 About the author: Svetlana Kim was just twenty-three years old when she left Leningrad, Russia, for New York City. During a chance encounter in a bread line, a former schoolmate offered her a plane ticket from the black market

The Connoisseur of Alleys

28 Jun No Comments Aileen Ibardaloza-Cassinetto Books, Issue 45

The Connoisseur of Alleys by Eileen R. Tabios Marsh Hawk Press (New York), Spring 2016 Foreword by Vince Gotera A phrase from Comte de Lautréamont’s prose poem Les Chants de Maldoror (1869) has been used by many as a definition of surrealism: “the chance meeting on a dissecting-table of a

© 2001, Our Own Voice